Type to search

Government - Local News

Cobb cityhood movements dead on arrival


Cobb voters overwhelmingly rejected efforts by Republican state lawmakers to create three new cities. The areas of East Cobb, Lost Mountain, and Vinings will remain unincorporated after a majority of the voters said no. West Cobb voters defeated the Lost Mountain cityhood effort 58% to 42%, East Cobb was defeated in a landslide with 73% of voters opposed, and Vinings rejected cityhood by 255 votes, with 55% opposed.

The proposed cities of Lost Mountain, East Cobb, and Vinings were billed by supporters as the only way to preserve their spacious suburban neighborhoods in the face of a rapidly developing — and increasingly diverse — Cobb County. Voters disagreed and elected to remain as is.

The fourth cityhood movement for Mableton, a majority-black community, is on the ballot in November. Unlike its counterpart communities, Mableton earned near-unanimous support from the state Legislature, while the others were approved along party lines.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *