Type to search

Business Events Government - Local Government - State Law and Order

Cobb’s Chief Judge Brendan F. Murphy named 2021 Workhorse


During this week’s spring Executive Committee meeting, Cobb County’s Chief Magistrate Judge, Brendan F. Murphy, was named the Council of Magistrate Court Judges “2021 Workhorse of the Year”.

Murphy was presented the award by Council President and Cobb Magistrate Court Judge Quinn Kasper who credited Murphy with successfully navigating the COVID-19 pandemic, his innovative partnerships with rental assistance providers in Landlord/Tenant Court that have been studied statewide, and his service with multiple judicial bodies.

A grateful Murphy said, “Magistrate Courts take pride in 24/7 hard work for all of our communities across the state. It is truly humbling to be recognized among Georgia’s 500 dedicated magistrate judges after this difficult year.”

All administrative and judicial functions of the Magistrate Court of Cobb County are managed by Chief Magistrate Judge Murphy who was appointed Chief Magistrate of Cobb County by the Superior Court bench of the Cobb Judicial Circuit in July 2019 and elected to a full term in June 2020.

As Chief Magistrate, Murphy is responsible for all judicial and administrative functions of the Magistrate Court of Cobb County which operates 24 hours/day, 365 days/year with a staff of approximately 75 people, including 20 total judges. Judge Murphy is dedicated to ensuring access to justice at “The People’s Court.”



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *