Type to search

Election Government - Local News

Cobb elections board certifies Mableton results, early voting dates for runoff announced


With a unanimous vote, the Cobb County Board of Elections certified the March 21 Mableton mayor and city council election results. 

They also took the steps necessary to approve an early voting schedule for the April 18 runoff election, approving one week of early voting for the runoff.

Because none of the candidates for Mayor and Council District 2, 3, 4, and 5 won more than 50% of the vote, the top two vote-getters are advancing to the runoff. 

They have the next few weeks to convince voters why they are the better candidates and convince them to come back out to vote for them instead of their opponent. 

Early voting for these seats are April 10 – 14th. Two early voting locations, the Mable House Arts Center and the South Cobb Community Center, will be open from Monday, April 10 through Friday, April 14, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

According to Elections and Registration Director Janine Eveler, out of the 47,282 eligible voters in Mableton, there were 6,084 ballots cast, which equates to a turnout of 12.9%.

The Board turned down a request from Cobb Democratic Party Chairman Erick Allen for an additional early voting location south of Veterans Memorial Highway to increase access to citizens. 

The Board opted not to do the work needed to find an additional location and stuck with the two locations it used for the first round of voting, which are located within walking distance of each other. 

For more information, click here.

Listed below are the certified Mableton election results.

Mayor of Mableton

♦ AARON CARMAN — 2,162 votes

♦ MICHAEL OWENS — 1,852 votes

City Council District 1

♦ RON S. DAVIS — 233 votes

♦ DEBORAH JOHNSON — 212 votes

City Council District 2


♦ DAMI OLADAPO — 182 votes

City Council District 3

♦ KEISHA JEFFCOAT — 354 votes

♦ YASHICA MARSHALL — 271 votes

City Council District 4

♦ PATRICIA J. AUCH — 1,000 votes


City Council District 5

♦ CHERYL DAVIS — 343 votes

♦ TJ FERGUSON — 443 votes

City Council District 6

DEBORA HERNDON — 539 votes


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *